Perhaps it was a moment of miscalculation or a lapse in attention. With only five balls bowled, an astute umpire called an over complete.
On Friday, a significant umpiring blunder in the decisive Group 1 game between reigning champions Australia and already-defeated Afghanistan was noted on social media.
Umpiring blunder during Australia and Afghanistan’s final Super 12 game
Australia batters Mitchell Marsh and David Warner combined to face only five balls in the fourth over of the game. Either batter scored a single off the first two balls before Marsh smashed a half-volley over backward point for a boundary on the third.
Marsh then scored three runs on the next ball thanks to some lousy fielding by Afghanistan, which resulted in an overthrow. A dot ball was delivered as the fifth delivery. In the over, no sixth ball was bowled.
An over consists of six deliveries for the ones that are still somehow bamboozled. The umpire called it done at the end of the sixth ball without the final ball being bowled.
The Aftermath of the umpiring blunder during T20 World Cup match
Fortunately for Australia, it did not come back to bother them, as they survived a late scare from Rashid Khan to win by a slender 4-run margin.
Australia were limited to 167 runs owing to some brilliant death bowling by Naveen and Fazal. Afghanistan came out with all guns blazing, intent on making history. They were on 99 for the loss of two wickets at one point, with the requisite run rate comfortably within reach. Matthew Wade’s outstanding captaincy in bringing in Adam Zampa in the penultimate over, combined with some outstanding fielding, reduced them to 103 for six.
Rashid Khan took the helm and reduced the equation to 22 off the final over. He could only manage 16 runs as the hosts won by four runs.