WIPL 2023 Franchise Bids: Adani registers highest bid for Ahmedabad franchise; MI, RCB, DC, & Capri bag teams

WIPL 2023 Franchise Bids results: The teams are out for the inaugural edition of the Women’s Indian Premier League. Ahmedabad, Mumbai, Delhi, Bengaluru and Lucknow are the five city franchises and here are the corporates who have won the rights to own them.

WIPL Gains traction as 6 franchise get Rs.4669.99 Cr in total bids

A total of 17 bidders were set to compete in the BCCI’s January 25 auction to purchase the five women’s IPL franchisees ahead of the league’s debut season in March 2023. This list of bidders included seven team owners from men’s IPL. The winners of the auction have been chosen through a closed-bid procedure on Wednesday (January 25) afternoon in Mumbai.

As part of clearing the technical-bid process, the BCCI had listed a number of eligibility requirements for bidding, one of which is that the bidders must have an audited net worth of at least Rs 1000 crore as of March 31, 2022.

The organisations that own the IPL franchises Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Rajasthan Royals, Punjab Kings, Sunrisers Hyderabad, and Delhi Capitals were amongst the 17 bidders that had submitted technical bids.

However, the other three men’s IPL team owners, Gujarat Titans, Lucknow Super Giants, chose not to participate in the bidding process despite having purchased the tender paperwork. Adani Group, Capri Global, Haldiram’s Group, Torrent Pharma, Apollo Pipes, Amrit Leela Enterprises, Shriram Group, and Slingshot 369 Ventures Private Limited were a few of the companies that were included in the financial offers.

Check out the list of the Successful Bidders for upcoming Women’s League

Successful BidderCityAmount in INR
Adani Sportsline Pvt. LtdAhmedabad1289 crores
Indiawin Sports Pvt. LtdMumbai912.99 crores
Royal Challengers Sports Pvt. LtdBengaluru901 crores
JSW GMR Cricket Pvt. LtdDelhi810 crores
Capri Global Holdings Pvt. LtdLucknow757 crores

BCCI named WIPL 2023 as Women’s Premier League

Board Secretory Jay Shah via Twitter confirmed that the tournament will also officially be called the WOMEN’S PREMIER LEAGUE.

Moreover, Jay Shah termed the auction as a historical one. He further congratulated to the bid winners. His Tweet read:

“Today is a historic day in cricket as the bidding for teams of inaugural #WPL broke the records of the inaugural Men’s IPL in 2008! Congratulations to the winners as we garnered Rs.4669.99 Cr in total bid. This marks the beginning of a revolution in women’s cricket and paves the way for a transformative journey ahead not only for our women cricketers but for the entire sports fraternity. The #WPL would bring necessary reforms in women’s cricket and would ensure an all-encompassing ecosystem that benefits each and every stakeholder.”

Also read: Women’s IPL will be a game-changer, I’m keeping my options open: Mithali Raj on playing in WIPL 2023

Thank you for reading.

Prachi Rajan - 774 Posts

Experienced content writer with a demonstrated history of writing content for trending products and services. Writing digital content for companies that provides information or showcases the products or services they offer. Social Media Expert Basic Knowledge of SEO

Related Articles

Back to top button