Sultan Johor Cup 2022: Indan team beats Australia in final to lift record-equalling 3rd title

Then Indian junior Hockey team adds another accolade to their long list by winning the Sultan of Johor cup. They defeat Australia on penalties in the final to lift the title 3rd time.

It was a tense game between the two inseparable teams. Both India and Australia had met earlier in the tournament and produced a 5-5 draw.

Hence, it was obvious that it would be hard to separate the two teams. And it turned out to be the case as well.

Both the sides were tied at 1-1 at the end of the regulation time. And a penalty shoot out was required to produce a winner of the tournament.

The Indian young blood showed great composure to win the shootout 5-4.

The first two quarters of the game saw both the teams scoring their solitary goals. It was India who put the ball in the net in the 14th minute to get things underway. Sandeep Chirmako was the scorer of the goal.

Australia made a quick comeback in the very second quarter. Their player Jack Holland nearly 15 minutes later made the score 1-1 by beating the Indian defense.

The remaining two quarters were fought with great intensity. Yet none of the sides could find the back of the net. As a result, a penalty shootout was required.

Watch: Penalty shootout between India and Austalia in final of Sultan Johor Cup 2022

(Rules check: Unlike Football, where a direct kick is taken, penalty shootout in hockey requires the taker to run in from the 23-yard line. They are allowed 8 seconds to make it at the back of the net.

A foul in such a scenario results to a penalty stroke taken from a spot.)

Australia began the proceedings in Penalty shootout and missed their first but converted the second. India did vice versa, hence the shootout was tied at 1-1.

After Jayden Atkinson’s effort was thwarted by Mohith Shashikumar, India’s captain Uttam Singh won a penalty shot, which Sharda Nand Tiwari immediately converted to give India a 2-1 lead.
Joshua Brooks made it 2-2 for Australia next, but Boby Singh Dhami was unable to give India the lead.

After the keeper checked Brodee Foster on the following shot, Australia was awarded a penalty stroke, which Joshua Brooks calmly converted.
India’s Ankit Pal stepped up to the spot next and converted to tie the score at 3-3 and send the match into sudden death.

Vishnukant Singh attempted first shot in the sudden death for India but missed, and , Liam Hart was turned down by the post.
With the following shot, Uttam Singh gave India a 4-3 advantage before Cooper Burns tied the score at 4-4.

In what was turning out to be a dramatic conclusion, the two teams were locked at 4-4 when Boby Singh Dhami missed his effort and Brodee Foster missed.

Following Joshua Brooks’ missed field goal attempt, Sudeep Chirmako maintained composure to make it 5-4, and India won their third Sultan of Johor Cup trophy to tie England for the most victories in the competition.

India’s previous victories came in 2013 and 2014.

Vaibhaw Tiwari - 401 Posts

A sucker for good sporting action, it doesn't matter from where it comes. Cricket, Football and PKL enthusiast.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button