Rajat Patidar and Mukesh Kumar recieve maiden callups as India announce squad for ODIs against South Africa

India will take on South Africa after the T20i series concludes and they have announced their squad with some newbies.

Veteran batter Shikhar Dhawan will be leading the team in the One-day series that’s set to commence on the 6th of October.

The Indian squad did not include any players from the World T20 squad, as they are scheduled to fly to Australia on October 5th. Some standby players, like Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, and Deepak Chahar, have made the ODI team.

Many people were surprised by the inclusion of IPL star Rajat Patidar. He has been with RCB for two seasons, the most recent of which was remarkable. He got a century in the eliminators and a fifty in the second qualifiers, joining an elite group of players who have two fifty-plus scores in the IPL knockouts.

He knocked in 335 runs in 8 innings, including two fifties and a century. This call-up to the Indian team was well-deserved, and he could be in line to be India’s regular middle-order batsman.

Rajat Patidar and Mukesh Kumar recieve maiden callup

Patidar’s selection was not the most surprising, as Bengal fast bowler Mukesh Kumar was also called up. The 28-year-old Bengal fast bowler has a remarkable domestic record, having taken 109 wickets in just 30 matches since joining the domestic circuit in 2015. His perseverance and sustained effort have paid off, as he is now among the group set to face South Africa.

Shahbaz Ahmed, Kuldeep Yadav, and Ravi Bishnoi are the three spinners on the team.

Following their recent exploits with India A, Shardul Thakur, Rahul Tripathi, and Samson have earned a callback.

The Deputy captain will be Knight Riders captain, Shreyas Iyer.

The series kicks off on October 6 in Lucknow, with Ranchi and Delhi hosting the final two games on October 9 and 11, respectively.

ODI SQUAD for South Africa series

Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Shreyas Iyer (vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubhman Gill, Rajat Patidar, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Mohammed Siraj, Deepak Chahar


Nitish - 27 Posts

"Somewhere Shakespeare is spinning in his grave."

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button