News Flash

Ballon d’Or winners list: from Benzema to Lewandowski – find out who wins what

Last Night the debate for the best player of the year was settled in Paris as Karim Benzema won the Ballon d’Or award for his spectacular performance.

Alongside him, Alexia Putellas of FC Barcelona Femini, won the women’s award.

With this award Karim Benzema broke a 24-year-old record. He became the first French player since Zinedine Zidane in 1988 to win the award. He pipped Sadio Mane, who came second, to win this award.

The other players on the top four list were Kevin De Bryune of Manchester City. And Robert Lewandowski of Barcelona/Bayern.

Karim Benzema’s fantastic season with Real Madrid

Benzema scored a total of 44 goals in 46 games for his side. And also managed to win two marquee trophies in the form of La Liga and UEFA Champions League. Hence he was the hot favourite to win the title.

But with this award Benzema has also completed his revival in the footballing world. The French Striker, who has been a huge part of Real Madrid in the past decade didn’t have the same relationship with his national team.

In fact, Benzema was suspended for 5 years from the national team after his involvement in a sex tape scandal got public. However, the 34-year-old made a comeback last year to the team.

He participated in the Euro League and will go to the World Cup as well.

Talking about the laurel, Benzema said, “Winning this trophy was always something that was in the back of my mind.”

Alexia Putella retains her title as Ballon d’Or winner

Alexia Putella of FC Barcelona’s women’s team was awarded the prestigious award for the second year in a row.

This was just the fourth edition of Women’s Ballon d’Or and Putellas has already claimed two of them. She edged out Beth Mead of England to retain her title.

However, it was not an easy journey for Putellas either. Alexia suffered a knee injury towards the end of the season. And was on the bench for a whole of month.

In this period her team suffered a defeat in the final of Women’s Champions League by the hands of Lyon.

Putellas’ words after winning the trophy were: “To retain the trophy is much harder. When I injured my knee I thought my chances of winning it had gone but in the end the jury based their decision on the whole of last season, of which I only missed one month.”

Lewandowski wins Gerd Muller, Gavi crowned Kopa Trophy

Apart from the Ballon d’Or winners, in the form of Benzema and Putellas, there were other prizes on offer like the Gerd Muller and Kopa Trophy.

The Gerd Muller award is bestowed upon the best striker of the year. While the Kopa Trophy is to award the best young player of the yaer. And both the trophies were capped by Barcelona’s player.

The Gerd Muller Trophy was awarded to Lewandowski for his furious and frivolous performance in front of the goal last season. Lewandowski scored insane 50 goals in just 43 games.

Gavi on the other hand became the second Barcelona player in a row to win the Kopa Trophy. Last year the award was given to his compatriot and teammate Pedri.

Last but now least, Manchester City was awarded as the best team of the season. They won the Premier League on the last day defeating Liverpool. They also made it to the semi final stages of the UEFA Champions League.

Vaibhaw Tiwari - 401 Posts

A sucker for good sporting action, it doesn't matter from where it comes. Cricket, Football and PKL enthusiast.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button