Uruguay announce World Cup Squad; know details

The FIFA World Cup is just around the corner as the biggest sporting competition in the world will begin on 20th November in Qatar. Hence, with the tournament in less than 10 days, the teams that have qualified for it must submit their 26-man squad to FIFA by this weekend. With that in mind, the South American giants Uruguay have named their roster that’ll fly to Qatar.

Luis Suarez would be leading his national team as it’s his last World Cup and there are also some surprising names in the squad list as Barcelona center-back Ronald Araujo who just had surgery in September and who hasn’t played football since has made the team list. All in all, it’s a big risk to take him and here’s the full squad:

Goalkeepers – Fernando Muslera (Galatasaray), Sergio Rochet (Nacional), Sebastián Sosa, (Independiente)

Defenders – Diego Godín (Velez Sarsfield), José María Giménez (Atletico Madrid), Sebastián Coates (Sporting Lisbon), Martín Cáceres (Los Ángeles Galaxy), Ronald Araujo (Barcelona), Matías Viña (Roma), Mathías Olivera (Napoli), Guillermo Varela (Flamengo), José Luis Rodríguez (Nacional)

Midfielders – Matías Vecino (Lazio), Rodrigo Bentancur (Tottenham), Federico Valverde (Real Madrid), Lucas Torreira (Galatasaray), Manuel Ugarte (Sporting Lisbon), Facundo Pellistri (Manchester United), Nicolás De la Cruz (River Plate), Giorgian de Arrascaeta (Flamengo), Agustín Canobbio (Athletico Paranaense) and Facundo Torres (Orlando City)

Forwards: Darwin Núñez (Liverpool), Luis Suárez (Nacional), Edinson Cavani (Valencia), Maximiliano Gómez (Trabzonspor)

Shubham Agarwal - 462 Posts

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button