Which 18 teams have qualified for 20-team T20 World Cup 2024 so far?

The 9th edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is scheduled to be held from June 4 to June 30, 2024. It will be jointly hosted by the West Indies and the United States, representing a historic occasion for cricket. A total of 20 teams will participate in this tournament, with 18 teams having already secured their spots. These qualified teams include Australia, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ireland, Scotland, West Indies, USA, PNG, Canada, Nepal, and Oman.

This particular edition of the T20 World Cup is highly anticipated, as it marks the first time matches will be played on American soil. This development is a significant step forward in the global expansion of cricket.

In November 2021, the ICC made a notable announcement, disclosing that the West Indies and the United States would collaborate to host the 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup. This decision followed successful bids by Cricket West Indies and USA Cricket, who had engaged in two years of meticulous planning. The ICC views this strategic partnership as a means to elevate the United States onto the international cricketing stage.

Nepal and Oman qualify for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

Nepal and Oman recently clinched victories in the Asia region qualifiers, earning their spots in the 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup.

Oman’s performance was particularly outstanding, as they overwhelmed Bahrain with a ten-wicket win. Aqib Ilyas played a pivotal role by taking four wickets for just ten runs, effectively halting Bahrain’s batting prowess. Openers Kashyap Prajapati and Pratik Athavale then efficiently chased down the target in under six overs.

Nepal faced a formidable challenge from the UAE in their semi-final but ultimately emerged triumphant with an eight-wicket win. Spinners Kushal Malla and Sandeep Lamichhane delivered economical spells, restricting the UAE to a total of 134 for 9. Aasif Sheikh’s unbeaten 63 runs sealed the victory for Nepal, securing their place in the marquee tournament.

With Nepal and Oman’s successful qualification, a total of 18 teams have now secured their positions in the tournament. The remaining two spots will be determined in the Africa qualifier, which is set to conclude at the end of the month.

Read more: Nepal and Oman Clinch Spot in ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 After Dominant Qualifier Performances

Thank you for reading.

Prachi Rajan - 850 Posts

Experienced content writer with a demonstrated history of writing content for trending products and services. Writing digital content for companies that provides information or showcases the products or services they offer. Social Media Expert Basic Knowledge of SEO

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button