News Flash

Mohammed Shami announced as replacement of Jasprit Bumrah for T20 World Cup in Australia

Mohammad Shami has been named as India’s replacement for Bumrah.

After an eternity and a half, the BCCI finally announced its replacement. Jasprit Bumrah will be replaced by star pacer Mohammad Shami.

The 32-year-old pacer was diagnosed with covid and was sidelined for months, missing the recent bilateral series and Asia Cup owing to injuries and covid.

He recently tested negative and took a flight to Australia with Shardul Thakur.

Shami has appeared in 16 T20 internationals for India, taking 16 wickets with a high of 3 for 15.

His ability to bowl at any moment of the game, combined with his experience, will be crucial for the Indians.

Official statement.

The All-India Senior Selection Committee has named Mohammed Shami as Jasprit Bumrah’s replacement in India’s ICC Men’s T20 World Cup squad.

Shami has reached Australia and will link up with the squad in Brisbane ahead of the warm-up matches.

Mohammed Siraj and Shardul Thakur have been named as backups and will travel to Australia shortly.

India squad for ICC T20 World Cup: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Shami.

Nitish - 185 Posts

"Somewhere Shakespeare is spinning in his grave."

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button