IPL 2023 Most Runs Scorer & Orange Cap holder in Indian Premier League 16th season

IPL or the Indian Premier League, is a marquee franchise cricket tournament organized annually by BCCI in India. IPL is the biggest T20 Franchise cricket as it features the biggest cricketing stars from all around the world.

This article features IPL 2023 Most Runs Scorer & Orange Cap Standing of the 16th edition of Indian Premier League.

The Indian Premier League was originally found in 2007 by the BCCI. And it turned out to be a great attraction in its inaugural season, the rest as we all say was history.

As of 2022, the league has been revised for 15 editions and gathered great traction all around the world. It has set such standards, that not only Indian players but overseas players also yearn to play in this league.

It’s popularity is so immense that ICC (International Cricket Council) sets out a dedicated time period in the year to facilitate the Indian Premier League so that overseas players can feature in this tournament.

IPL 2023 top scores

The 2023 season of Indian Premier League is all set to be the best tournament with the highest run scorers from all around the world. This tournament will feature the likes of Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler from England, David Warner and Cameroon Green from Australia, and likes of muscle power of West Indies in the form of Russell, Pooran and Shimron Hetmyer.

Furthermore, there are plenty of Indian batters who can light up the scene. From youngsters like Shubhman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, and Ishan Kishan to Veterans like Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma, the IPL 2023 is all set to see some top scorers featuring in the tournament.

Hence, let’s take a look at the Most Run scorers and Orange cap standings of IPL 2023.

IPL 2023 Most Runs scorers and Orange Cap standing

The tournament is jam packed with players who are proven to make it big. They have done it in international cricket, and franchise cricket all around the world. Hence it will be interesting to see who emerges as the IPL 2023 Most runs scorer.

IPL 2023 Most Runs scorers and Orange Cap standing

The 16th edition of IPL is all set to see the blitz of last year. Can Jos Buttler continue his supremacy in this season as well and emerge as the IPL 2023 Most runs scorer? Or will his orange cap and status of top scorer for the previous season receive tough challenge from other players?

Last year Buttler was the runaway top scorer of the tournament. It was almost unopposed. But this year can be different given that the teams are playing in home and away format. Which means that some conditions will suit certain team’s bowlers making it hard to score fast runs against them.

But Ruturaj Gaiwkad will also be looking to turn his season around. He was the orange cap holder in the 2021 edition but couldn’t find his feat in the 2022 season. Hence the title of IPL 2023 Most runs scorer is what he will be eyeing as well. That gilded IPL 2023 Orange Cap will always be in his aim.

However, there are several other players who have the capacity to emerge as the top run scorers in IPL 16. For starters KL Rahul will be returning to the opening position along side his deputy Quinton de Kock for LSG. Another South African who has been a great form in T20s is Aiden Markram. He too shall be watching out for the IPL 2023 Orange Cap and getting his hands on it.

Markram was recently announced as the captain of SRH. And everyonw saw what the Protean can do as a leader of the side. He took his team Sunrisers Eastern Cape to inaugural glory in SA 20 in South Africa.

Another major contender for the IPL 2023 Orange cap can be David Warner. The Australian is also returning to the tournament as a captain in this edition. He was removed from the captaincy in 2021 edition, after which he left SRH, a team he had taken to title glory in 2016.

All in all it will be interesting to see who will emerge as the IPL 2023 Most Runs scorer.

IPL Orange Cap Winner Lists (2008-2023)

YearPlayersTeamsRunsAverageHighest Score
2008Shaun MarshKXIP61668.44115
2009Matthew HaydenCSK5725289
2010Sachin TendulkarMI61847.5389
2011Chris GayleRCB60867.55107
2012Chris GayleRCB73361.08128
2013Michael HusseyCSK73352.3595
2014Robin UthappaKKR6604483
2015David WarnerSRH56243.2391
2016Virat KohliRCB97381.08113
2017David WarnerSRH64158.27126
2018Kane WilliamsonSRH73552.584
2019David WarnerSRH69269.2100
2020KL RahulPBKS67055.83132*
2021Ruturaj GaikwadCSK63545.35101*
2022Jos ButlerRR86357.53116

Ever since the inception of the marquee tournament in 2008, the Orange cap has been one of the most prestigious title in the tournament that is bestowed on the head of the most runs scorer in IPL.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button