News Flash

BCCI announce squad for T20Is against West Indies; Virat Kohli misses out

BCCI announce squad for T20Is against West Indies; Virat Kohli misses out
Image Courtesy: @ImVkohli/Twitter

The Indian cricket team has just announced the squad for the T20I series against West Indies. And surprisingly, Virat Kohli is not a part of it. While Ravichandran Ashwin, who tested positive for Covid earlier, returns to the squad.

Rohit Sharma, who is rested for the ODI series, makes a comeback for the T20Is. He will be leading the team again, looking to continue his excellent form. Ever since Sharma has taken up the mantle as full-time captain, India has not lost a single T20I series.

Earlier, they beat west indies at home and will be looking to replicate the same results.

The solid middle order sans Kohli

Other players in the team include Ishan Kishan, who was also seen in the T20Is against Ireland and England earlier. Although an experimental move made Rishabh Pant open saw, Kishan lost his place. But he will be hoping to get another chance to prove his worth.

The recent centurions Deepak Hooda and Suryakumar Yadav are sure to find a place on the team. While Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, and Arshdeep Singh will also return to the squad.

KL Rahul and Kuldeep Yadav to return

Everyone’s eye will be on KL Rahul and Kuldeep Yadav. Both the players have been named to the squad. But their selection is subject to fitness. Both the players picked up injuries recently and have been sidelined for a long time.

While KL Rahul underwent surgery for Sports Hernia, Kuldeep Yadav also had his injury issue. Both the players had been withdrawn from playing circuit on the eve of the home series against South Africa.

Coming back to Virat Kohli’s place in the team, the player has missed ample series this year. Post the conclusion of the IPL, Kohli already missed the home series against South Africa. And later also wasn’t a part of the T20I team that played Ireland.

Further he was left out of the first T20I and ODI against England as well.

In short, Virat Kohli missing the T20I series has been a common occurrence in recent times. And if India is to win the upcoming T20 World Cup, then this needs to change.

Yuzi Chahal, and Jasprit Bumrah are the other two players who miss the series.

India’s squad for 5 T20Is:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul*, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, R Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav*, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

* KL Rahul and Kuldeep Yadav are subject to fitness.

Vaibhaw Tiwari - 398 Posts

A sucker for good sporting action, it doesn't matter from where it comes. Cricket, Football and PKL enthusiast.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button